Hmm, I wonder why a LPGA golfer like Ms. Wei wouldn’t own this book. It seems for a mere $5.95 online at http://www.golfgalaxy.com plus tax and shipping she would save herself some woe. I believe she could even read the rules online at http://www.usga.org/Rules if the cost of the actual book seemed out of line to her. But once again Ms. Wei has issue with a rule; she incurred a two stroke penalty for grounding her club in a hazard, this time at the 11th hole in Sunday’s Kia Classic at La Costa. It ended up costing her about $91,000 as the penalty dropped her to sixth instead of her being tied for second place. And unfortunately her pleading afterwards was caught on camera.
As anyone familiar with her career knows, she was disqualified in 2005 for signing an incorrect scorecard when she didn’t add a penalty for an illegal drop; in 2006 by hitting a piece of moss in her backswing in a bunker, she incurred a two stroke penalty and later claimed she knew the rule, but apparently knew it wrong; then in 2008 she was disqualified after the third round when it was found she had failed to sign her second round scorecard. These along with the grounding rule may be silly, may not be needed, nor even interpreted correctly, but they are there to be adhered to by professionals and even by duffers like me.
I openly admit Michelle Wei would outclass me on any course. She would smoke me by 30 strokes I’m sure. But please, somebody, anybody, supply this women a copy of the rules and then sit with her to ensure she actually reads and understands them. She is a media darling for her play, looks and young age. The same reasons she is considered one of the LPGA’s biggest draws, and I’m sure those attributes helped her received the exemptions to play in PGA events; it helps with ratings. But with her game, she doesn’t need the drama.
~ Coach Mike